Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Keremeos Irrigation District, held at the Victory Hall, Keremeos, BC on May 3rd, 2023.

In attendance were Chair, Roger Mayer, Trustees, Tim Cottrill, Bill Sparkes, Ian Walters & Aaron Beauchamp; Superintendent, Jo Cottrill, Financial Administrator, Cheryl Halla & Consulting Manager Kevin Huey. Absent: None

Also in attendance were forty ratepayers.

The meeting was called to order at 7:01 P.M. by Kevin Huey.

Roger Mayer was nominated by Donegal Wilson, to act as Chair of the meeting. As there were no other nominations, Roger was declared elected Chair.

Cheryl Halla was nominated by Aaron Beauchamp to act as Secretary for the meeting. As there were no other nominations, Cheryl was declared elected Secretary.

Reading of the Notice of Meeting was waived on motion of Donegal Wilson, seconded by Ryan Campbell.

Carried.

The minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on May 18, 2022, were read by all attendees. On motion of Tim Cottrill, seconded by Aaron Beauchamp, that the minutes of the last Annual General Meeting be adopted as read.

Carried.

Report on Operations / Trustees Report for 2022 - 2023: (see report for full details)

The Superintendent's report was presented and read by Jo Cottrill. The report contained updates on District operations and current initiatives which included: Phase II of the GARP Study being completed to conform with IHA requirements; TRUE Consulting to work on the design and cost for an additional well at the West field to address capacity issues; installation of a new watermain on 10th Ave. in conjunction with the Village's paving project; two KID staff are certified backflow inspectors and the District has now put a program in place as a requirement from Interior Health Authority; the water testing program was summarized and thanks was given to other District staff for keeping the district operating smoothly and safely.

Bob Thurston inquired if the proposed well at the West station is good water; response from Jo is yes, the west unit is the best location for good water quality.

The Trustee's report was presented by Roger Mayer; he relayed several achievements of the KID for the past few years. Thanks were given to Area G Director Tim Roberts for looking into assistance for the KID in augmenting the water supply at the West Unit, as our system capacity is at times just meeting the peak demand. Other projects undertaken outlined in our 20-year Capital Works Plan have utilized capital reserves. He further noted that at present we must continue with a separate infrastructure fee adding that improvement districts are still not eligible for federal or provincial grant funding. He thanked staff for continuing to provide high quality drinking water for the community.

Following the report, there were no questions from the floor.

Financial Statements for the Year Ending December 31st, 2022:

The Financial Statements and Auditors Report, prepared by Omland Heal Professional Chartered Accountants was presented to all attendees for review. Cheryl Halla explained aspects of each page and the amounts in the various funds held by the district, referring to Schedule 1 & Schedule 2. Following the report there were questions received on accounts receivable amounts (Donegal Wilson); where on the financial statements the Capital Expenditure fees are shown (Ed Minshull); administration and staffing amounts (Bob & Dawne Thurston); whether or not tolls are

Continued on Page II ...

Financial Statements December 31, 2022, Cont'd:

collected on multi-unit buildings (Bob Thurston) and a request to post the minutes on the website before the AGM (Dawne Thurston).

Following questions it was moved by Ed Minshull, seconded by Dave Lubbers, that the financial statements for the year ending December 31, 2022, were adopted as printed.

Carried.

Remuneration of Trustees for 2023 – 2024:

The Chair explained the current rate of remuneration, which is \$1,670.75 per year for each. Trustee and \$2,227.70 for the Chair, noting that an increase of 4% was granted in 2022 to cover a cost-of-living allowance. A per diem rate of \$55.00 per meeting is also paid for meetings attended outside of regular Board meetings. Following discussion, it was moved by Donegal Wilson, seconded by Dawne Thurston that the current rate of remuneration will remain at status quo for the 2023-2024 year.

Carried.

Election of Trustees:

The three-year terms of trustees Roger Mayer & Aaron Beauchamp have expired. Three nomination papers were filed; two from the incumbents; and one from resident Jim Murphy. Roger Mayer outlined the Election Procedures. It was inquired by Bob Thurston whether nominations can be received from the floor; response was no, the deadline as indicated in the AGM Notice of Meeting was noon Friday, April 28, 2023.

The Election proceeded:

Moved by Aaron Beauchamp, seconded by Bill Sparkes that Cheryl Halla be appointed as Returning Officer and that Kevin Huey be appointed as Deputy Returning Officer. **Carried.** Scrutineers for the candidates were appointed as follows:

Jim Murphy – Selected Gagan Lasser for scrutineer, who verified that the ballot box was empty. Aaron Beauchamp and Roger Mayer declined to appoint scrutineers.

Voting was by secret ballot; the voters' eligibility was verified by Cheryl Halla & Kevin Huey upon signing for their ballot. There were forty-four ballots handed out, with the option of selecting two candidates on each ballot.

Results of the election are as follows: Jim Murphy 16 votes.

Aaron Beauchamp 41 votes Roger Mayer 28 votes.

Following the counting of the ballots, Kevin Huey announced that Aaron Beauchamp and Roger Mayer were declared elected for a three-year term.

New Business:

- Dawne Thurston further questioned the wages listed in the financial statements. She was advised that if she wanted additional clarification, she was welcome to come to the office for more information.
- 2) Ed Minshull commented that when fire hydrants are required because of buildings and housing creating higher density, that the developer should pay for the hydrant and not all taxpayers. He was informed that this was the case.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:45 P.M. on motion of Donegal Wilson, seconded by Bob Thurston.