Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Keremeos Irrigation District, held via ZOOM on November  $25^{th}$ , 2020

In attendance were Chair, Roger Mayer, Trustees, Tim Cottrill, Bill Sparkes, & Aaron Beauchamp; Superintendent, Jo Cottrill, and Financial Administrator, Cheryl Halla. Absent: Trustee, Ian Walters

There were no additional ratepayers in attendance.

The meeting was called to order at 7:05 P.M. by Roger Mayer.

Roger Mayer was nominated by Aaron Beauchamp, seconded by Tim Cottrill, to act as Chair for the meeting.

Cheryl Halla was nominated by Aaron Beauchamp, seconded by Roger Mayer to act as Secretary for the meeting.

Reading of the Notice of Meeting was waived on motion of Aaron Beauchamp, seconded by Bill Sparkes.

The minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on April 24, 2019 were distributed to attendees. On motion of Aaron Beauchamp, seconded by Tim Cottrill, the minutes of the last Annual General Meeting be adopted as read.

Carried.

#### Report on Operations / Trustees Report for 2019 - 2020: (see report for full details)

The Superintendent's report was presented and read by Jo Cottrill. The report contained updates on District operations and current initiatives which included: purchasing a new locator; recent projects including installing a VFD for Pump #4 at the West Unit, taking advantage of a Fortis rebate; upcoming projects including having a hydrologist complete a study to determine if it is possible to drill another well in the West pumping field; the toilet rebate program; cross connections and a thank you to fellow staff members in keeping the District running efficiently and keep our water safe.

Thanks were given to the Board of Trustees and staff for their time and service to the community this past year.

Following the report, there were no questions from the floor.

## Financial Statements for the Year Ending December 31<sup>st</sup>, 2019:

The Financial Statements and Auditors Report, prepared by Omland Heal Chartered Accountants were presented to all attendees for review. Cheryl Halla explained aspects of each page and the amounts in the various funds held by the District. Moved by Tim Cottrill, seconded by Bill Sparkes, the financial statements for the year ending December 31, 2019 were adopted as printed.

Carried.

There were no questions brought forward.

#### **Election of Trustees:**

The three-year terms of trustees Roger Mayer and Aaron Beauchamp expired this year. There are two trustee positions open, and two nomination papers were filed by the incumbents; both have accepted the nominations. Roger Mayer and Aaron Beauchamp were both declared elected by acclamation for a three-year terms.

# Remuneration of Trustees for 2020 - 2021:

The Chair explained the current rate of remuneration, is \$1,500.00 per year for each Trustee and \$2,000 for the Chair, noting that an increase of \$100 was granted in 2019 to cover the change by CRA to disallow an officers expense allowance and deem the entire amount taxable. Moved by Tim Cottrill, seconded by Bill Sparkes, that a 5% increase for both the Chair and the Trustees would be acceptable for 2020. A per diem rate of \$55.00 per meeting will continue to be paid for meetings outside of regular Board meetings.

## Carried.

New Business: There was no new business brought forward.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:27 P.M. on motion of Aaron Beauchamp.